One of the things I have learned from working with ThinkWorkPlay as a Certified HeartMath Provider is that we all have the capability to choose how we feel.  Some of us have strengthened that muscle more than others, some are unaware it is even available to them, but all truly do have the capability to choose, should we want to make that shift.

Why would we want to choose a new emotion?   When you are feeling upset, stressed, anxious, angry, part of you is actually enjoying it, thriving on it even. In Eckhart Tolle’s vocabulary, that is your ego.  But what you are doing to yourself physically isn’t worth the fuel you are feeding your ego.  By choosing differently, you are freeing your body to move in a more relaxed and comfortable state, healthier even.

How can you choose a new emotion?  First you have to gain awareness of your current emotion and acknowledge what it is.  It could be anger, anxiety, boredom, fear, depression.  By naming it, you have made the first step in identifying what you are moving away from. 

How would you like to feel? What would feel better?  Calm, relaxed, at ease, forgiving, appreciative, challenged, creative.  Whatever the emotion, can you shift yourself into a place where you are actually feeling that emotion in your body?  What does it feel like?  Can you remember a time when you felt like that and put yourself back in that place?

I have an emotional memory of a peak moment, riding a bike in Ireland, moving through a valley,downhill, wind blowing me backwards as I sped past my companions.  The air was cool, slightly damp, the sky was overcast and the road was bumpy.  Even now, I get goosebumps when I think about what that felt like, the joy and freedom I had in that moment. That is my go to moment when I need to shift out of funk. 

The biggest challenge for me is letting go of the resistance to move into a positive emotion. I have to recognize that I am stuck and cannot move forward as long as I am choosing to stay negative and powerless. Only when I move into a positive emotional state, do I tap into the Universal Power that allows me to create, collaborate and reach my potential.

