I am re-reading Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert for at least my fourth time. Each time I read it, it is as if a new page was inserted into the book, with a tale that I missed the previous time.   This time, tale 77 struck me as newly born. Liz is visiting with Ketut, her Bali medicine man, and he suggests a new technique for meditation.  “To meditate, only you must smile.  Smile with face, smile with mind, and good energy will come to you and clean away dirty energy. Even smile in your liver.” 

I awoke to this tale because it so much more simply describes what I have been sharing with my ThinkWorkPlay clients.  How to shift to a positive emotion and choose to feel differently.  Only this is so easy.  “Smile with mind”  Try it.  You will immediately feel your lips shift upward, your shoulders relax, your breath deepen.  Ahh, so much better.  Do you feel the stress and tension slip away?

