A friend and her out-of-town friend came to pick me up for the movie, Eat, Pray, Love. After we had made it throught the introductions, my new friend started to drive away, paused, looked both ways and said “I know where I am, but I don’t know where I am going.” Wow! Yoga in action!

I can’t tell you how many times have I thought that same thing. I can tell you that many of my clients have expressed these thoughts to me, whether they used those words or other phrases. It is easy to know where we are, we can take inventory of our lives and see what is working and not working. But it is hard to figure out where we are going or should be going.

This ties back into my Think and Grow Rich readings. I have now read the book three times. Each time, the missing links get a little clearer. What I have come to realize is that without the “burning desire”, aka “where I am going,” all the plans and wishes in the world aren’t worth much. What is also coming to the surface is that my burning desire has always been to help others fuel their burning desires. So I now realize that it isn’t that I do not have a burning desire, but that my instinctive habit of providing service to my friends, family and clients to help them achieve their vision has always ended up substituting itself for my “burning desire”. Or perhaps, more likely, I just didn’t recognize that the desire to help others achieve their goals was my “burning desire”.

I know where I am, AND I know where I am going! So satisfying and exciting!

