I took a new turn on my walk this morning, and found myself on the end of a pier, overlooking the ocean.

It is a cool, windy day so immediately my attention latched onto the incoming waves. With complete focus, I watched each wave come in and go out, relaxing into the space of mindfulness and meditation.

It was about 10 minutes into this contemplation that my eyes drifted beyond to the widening, quieter waters that extended as far as the eye could see. The vast expanse was awe inspiring and brought a chill up my spine.

It was then that I realized how often I do that in my daily life, focus on the waves which are busy putting on the show and forgetting the peacefulness that is available just beyond, still within reach, perhaps not as flamboyant and exciting, but also deeper, more transforming and expansive.

Today I will reach beyond the waves to the vast expanse of possibility.

20120307-093241.jpg

